Child-Safe Christmas

 

Doing Christmas with three toddlers can be a lot of fun, but it is also a lot of work. There are many of my decorations I am not using this year  for the safety of my babies as well as for the safety of my holiday decor. 

When my other kids were this age, I was able to teach them to leave the tree alone. But, now I am out numbered and have to choose my battles. This is just not one I have the energy for. So I decided to only do child-friendly ornaments. 
  
 Last year I bought a box of 40 wooden letter blocks for $18.99,  drilled a hole through the center and ran a ribbon through the hole and hung them on the tree. Between blocks and ribbon it came out to about 50 cents an ornament. 

  
With that same idea in mind, I hit the dollar section at target and found a bunch of wooden cars. 

  
I also found this wooden nativity for $15.00. 

  
Just like last year, I drilled a hole in them.  

And then, my older girls put the ribbons on them.   This year, it came out to about $1.50 a piece. 

Our tree ornaments consist of wooden toys, plush animals, and plastic Christmas balls.  

 Then, just for peace of mind, I secured the tree with some furniture wire. 

Now we are all set for a child-Safe Christmas.  

This entry was posted in Thoroughly Modern Mormon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

